Football News, Football Highlight, Match Preview & Footballers Networth

Sharing is caring!

Kevin De Bruyne, Jorginho and N'Golo Kante nominated for UEFA Men's Player of the Year award | Football News | Sky Sports
Kevin De Bruyne, Jorginho and N'Golo Kante nominated for UEFA Men's Player of the Year award | Football News | Sky Sports

After the completion of the previous champions league game where Chelsea triumphs over Manchester City at the cup final come forth, the evaluation of each player’s contribution in the tournament.

In selecting the right players, UEFA has to undergo through the process of selection by various football officials and journalism.

Updated- Jorginho awarded the UEFA Men’s Player of the Year 2021

Read also: Arsenal vs Chelsea Debut: Romelu Lukaku to wear No 9 shirt after Tammy Abraham exit

This selection is been breakdown from the first 20 at the initial stage, the first 10, and lastly, the last 3 in which these last three players are considered the best-performed players of the tournament.

Between these three players, one among them shall emerge as the lone winner of the prize where the winner will announce at the UEFA champions league group stage draw ceremony dated to hold on 26th of august, 2021 at Halic congress center in Istanbul, turkey.

Uefa has therefore yesterday revealed the last three nominees of the UEFA men player of the year for the 2020/2021 UEFA champions league.

On the same event, the UEFA men’s coach of the year, UEFA women’s coach of the year, women’s player of the year, and also best eleven of the cup shall also be revealed.

You should also read Uefa Men Coach of the Year 2021 award- Final 3 Nominees

Mode of Selection of Nominees for Uefa Men’s Player of the year 2021 Award

For the men’s player award, the last three players were selected by a group of individuals composed of 24 coaches of the national team who partook in the UEFA euro 2020, 80 club coaches that participated in UEFA and Europa League group stage respectively, and fifty-five journalists from each of UEFA’s 55 member associations which were selected by the European sports media (ESM). They are also part of the group.

The award is based on performances over the whole season in all competitions both domestically and internationally at either club or national team.

The coaches and journalists were to a lot of points to their favorite player in the last 10 lists where their first choice should be given 5 points, the second goes with 3 points and the third choice goes with 1 point.

No coach was allowed to vote for their own team though.

The three players who were voted most after the votes were collected therefore made the last three in which one will emerge as the winner.

Read also: La Liga 2021/22 live streaming: How to watch the 2021/22 La Liga season online

The most voted players who eventually made the top 3 spots.

The three players who were voted most after the conclusion of the voting are listed (alphabetically) below.

Kevin De Bruyne (Belgium – Manchester city)

The Belgian was the second to the winner of this award a year ago, the Manchester City star has never relented in his effort to clinch the award despite been disturbed by injury.

He picked up where he left off as he contributed immensely to the Manchester city league title win and a champions league final.

Premier League Arsenal vs Chelsea FC: prediction, kickoff time, team news, h2h results,

Jorginho (Chelsea – Italy)

Jorginho became the tenth player to win a European cup and euro in the same year. The box-to-box midfielder started at all Italy matches at the euro.

His most historic moment at the tournament was his decisive winning penalty in the semi-final against Spain.

N’golo Kante (france – Chelsea)

The ever-strong and energize midfielder had a fantastic champions league with Chelsea.

He was awarded the semi-final matches man of the match for both leg as his performance outclass Madrid players, therefore, paving the way to make the finals.

The rest of the top ten

4. Lionel Messi (Barelona, now at Paris – Argentina) 148 points

5. Lewandowski (Bayern Munich – Poland) 140 points

6. Gianluigi Donnaruma (AC Milan now at Paris – Italy) 49 points

7. Kylian Mbappe (Paris – France) 31 points

8. Raheem Sterling (Manchester City – England) 18 points

9. Christiano Ronaldo (Juventus – Portugal) 16 point

10. Erling Haaland (Dortmund – Norway) 15 points